The Theosophical Society is not a religion, having no binding creeds or dogmas. It is often asked just what does the Society stand for.

The Theosophical Society was formed at New York on November 17, 1875, and incorporated at Chennai (Madras) India on April 3, 1905. The Society’s three declared Objects describe its threefold mission which is:

  • To form a nucleus of Universal Brotherhood without distinction of race, creed, sex, caste or colour.
  • To encourage the study of comparative religion, philosophy and science.
  • To investigate the unexplained laws of nature and the powers latent in man.
There are many great religions in the world.
The model shown includes 6 of them.

Presently all humanity on earth, approximately 7.5 billion people, who choose to think and understand their purpose in life can be considered a seeker of the divine wisdom. We are shaped by our culture, race, religion and many other environmental factors. Our belief system is shaped from birth and to solve this complex paradox is the challenge if one chooses. Discovering this wisdom dissipates fear.

The Theosophical Society is a non-sectarian, non-political body of people united by their recognition of the principle of universal brotherhood.